Posted on

“Tanga Suite, Mvt 5: Rumba Abierta” – Arturo O’Farrill & the ALJO

This is “Rumba Abierta,” the 5th movement of The Tanga Suite by Chico O’Farrill, based on Mario Bauza’s composition “Tanga,” virtually performed by Arturo O’Farrill & the Afro Latin Jazz Orchestra. Soloists are Bryan Davis (trumpet), Keisel Jimenez (congas) and Vince Cherico (drums).

This performance is excerpted from Virtual Birdland Episode #39. You can watch the full show at:
Virtual Birdland is presented every Sunday night at 8:30pm EST. Subscribe to the Afro Latin Jazz Alliance channel:

The Musicians:
Arturo O’Farrill – Piano & Musical Director;
Roman Filiu, Adison Evans, Jeremy Powell, Jasper Dutz, Larry Bustamante
Seneca Black, Adam O’Farrill, Bryan Davis, Rachel Therrien;
Rafi Malkiel, Mariel Bildsten, Ben Barnett, Earl McIntyre (bass trombone)
Vince Cherico – drums
Bam Rodriguez – bass
Carlos “Carly” Maldonado – percussion
Keisel Jimenez – congas.

Sound Mixing: Peter Karl
Video Editing: Bryan Davis

If you have questions or comments about this video, we want to hear them! If you have a topic you’d like Bryan Davis to make a video about, please let us know – your suggestion could be the subject of a future video!

Join us on Monday for another #MusicMonday. You can watch all the previous episodes at: